Skip to the main content
PeabodyMake a free story

📚 Reading apps and reading coaches · 🧸 Early learning (ages 2-6)

Book Dash

By Book Dash (South African nonprofit). Visit Book Dash

Desk research from the maker's own pages. Not yet tried by us. Checked 2026-10-24.

A nonprofit publisher of open picture books for babies, toddlers and preschoolers, written and drawn by volunteer creatives in 12-hour events. Its online library lets anyone read or download the whole book free, filtered by theme and by language, including isiZulu, isiXhosa, Afrikaans, Setswana, South African Sign Language and wordless books. Families can read on screen or print the books, and the source files are shared for translating or printing locally.

Our take: A fine free source of diverse picture books, especially for families who speak South African languages; parents wanting an interactive reading app should look elsewhere.

Checked in a browser

A browser check on 2026-10-25: what loads, the ads and trackers we saw, and what a child meets first. Not a hands-on test.

Child safety: 4 out of 5No ads or chat; many links out to partner charities and social media, and an app-download mention.
Data: 4 out of 5Only Google Analytics and Tag Manager loaded, plus a YouTube video embed; no ad or tracking networks were seen.
Ease: 3 out of 5The home page talks to adults about the charity's mission; a 'Read free books' link is near the top, and part of the screen was blank while content loaded.
Cost honesty: 4 out of 5Books are free; a Donate link sits in the top menu.

What we found

  • Contacted 6 third-party sites: Google Analytics/Tag Manager, Google fonts, WordPress.com and YouTube.
  • No ad hosts found, including with the YouTube embed; 2 cookies set.
  • Links out to 22 sites, mostly partner charities plus Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X and YouTube.
  • Donate appears in the main menu next to Books, About and Events.

From the test: A free, ad-free picture-book charity site with only Google Analytics; its front page is written for adults, so a parent should pick the books.

The facts
Ages it suitsabout 0-6
What its terms say about ageNot stated; the site has no terms of use or privacy policy that we could find, and no account is needed to read. (terms)
PriceFree. All books free to read, download and print under a CC BY 4.0 license (Oct 2026); printed copies can be bought separately.
Works onWeb
AccountNo account needed
AdsNone
In-app purchasesNone
The AI in itNo AI

What's good

  • Hundreds of picture books free to read, print and translate
  • Many South African languages plus sign language and wordless books
  • No account, no ads, no purchases
  • Nonprofit focused on children owning books

Watch for

  • No privacy policy found on the site
  • Aimed at a South African audience; some settings and words are local
  • Plain on-screen reading; audio versions are on a separate page

Data and privacy

Not stated: no privacy policy was found on the site. The pages load Google Tag Manager/Analytics.

Does it work?

Book Dash reports an external evaluation of the Yizani Sifunde project (2021-2023, about 3,000 preschoolers in the Eastern Cape), which combined its books with a classroom literacy program and reading clubs and found children with more books at home had better early learning skills. That tests the bundle, not the website.

In the Big Index

Alternatives to Book Dash

  • Desk researchPaidNo ads

    ABCmouse

    Age of Learning, Inc. · ages about 2-6 (preschool to kindergarten)

    A full preschool program for families who want one paid app; cancel carefully and watch the reward loop.

  • Desk researchFree, with paid extras

    ABCya

    ABCya.com LLC (a division of IXL Learning) · ages about 4-12 (pre-K to grade 6+)

    Handy for quick grade-level practice in class or at home; skip if you want an ad-free experience without paying.

  • Desk researchPaidNo ads

    Adventure Academy

    Age of Learning, Inc. · ages grades 3-8 (about 8-13)

    Good for kids who love online games and need a nudge toward school subjects; families wanting no social contact should set chat to off or choose a solo app.

  • Desk researchPaidNo ads

    Amazon Kids+ and Parent Dashboard

    Amazon · ages 3-12

    A good-value bundle for families already on Amazon devices with kids 3-12; skip it if your child mostly uses an iPad or a phone.

  • Desk researchFreeNo ads

    AmblesideOnline

    AmblesideOnline (volunteer advisory) · ages about 5-18 (Year 0 to Year 12)

    A strong free plan for homeschool families drawn to Charlotte Mason and literature-rich learning; secular families or those wanting an interactive program should look elsewhere.

  • Desk researchThrough schoolsNo ads

    Amira Learning

    Amira Learning · ages about 5-14 (school product; listed studies run from kindergarten to middle school)

    Worth asking about if your child's school uses it; parents cannot buy it, so home users should look at family apps instead.

Every product in reading apps and reading coaches →

Where these facts come from

Prices, terms and features change. Nobody paid to be listed, nothing here is an affiliate link, and Peabody never rates itself. Where we and the maker disagree, the maker's own pages are the ones to trust.