🧸 Early learning (ages 2-6) · 🏡 School apps, family logistics and safety
Brightwheel
By Brightwheel. Visit Brightwheel
Desk research from the maker's own pages. Not yet tried by us. Checked 2026-10-24.
Software that child care centers, preschools, home daycares, camps and afterschool programs use to run their day. Staff check kids in and out, log meals, naps and diapers, post photos, share lesson plans and progress, and bill tuition. Parents use the free app to see a daily report and photos, message teachers, and pay. Children do not use it; it is a window into their day for the parent.
Our take: Useful if your child care uses it; check the photo and marketing settings, since the privacy policy reads like a general commercial app's.
| Ages it suits | mostly 0-5, plus school-age kids in camps and afterschool programs |
|---|---|
| What its terms say about age | Accounts are for providers and parents or guardians. The privacy policy says the service is not directed to children under 16 and Brightwheel does not knowingly collect personal information from them directly; children's details are entered by the program. (terms) |
| Price | Paid. Programs pay; pricing is custom by quote. Parents use the app free; tuition and fees are set by the program (Oct 2026). |
| Works on | Web, iPhone and iPad, Android |
| Account | A parent's account |
| Ads | Not stated |
| In-app purchases | None |
| The AI in it | Brightwheel AI is an optional assistant for program staff that answers questions from the program's own data and flags things that need attention. |
What's good
- Daily report and photos from child care
- Messaging and tuition payment in one app
- Free for parents
- Check-in and check-out record
Watch for
- Photos of young children stored in the cloud
- Privacy policy allows targeted advertising and ad partners
- Parents can't choose it; the program does
- Tuition charges are non-refundable through Brightwheel
Data and privacy
The privacy policy says Brightwheel may use personal information to tailor ads, including targeted advertising and cross-device tracking, and shares data with advertising partners through cookies and similar tools. It does not state a no-AI-training promise. Read the privacy policy.
Does it work?
The maker's own claims only; no independent study was found.
Alternatives to Brightwheel
Desk researchPaidNo ads
1Password Families
AgileBits Inc. (1Password) · ages whole family; under 16 needs a parent's consent
A good family password plan if you are willing to pay; Bitwarden is the cheaper option with a free tier.
Desk researchPaidNo ads
Acorns Early (formerly GoHenry)
GoHenry Inc. d/b/a Acorns Early (Acorns) · ages 6-18
A fair pick for families who want a kids' card with money lessons; compare the fee with Greenlight and BusyKid first.
Desk researchFree, with paid extrasNo ads
Bitwarden Families
Bitwarden, Inc. · ages 13+
The best value for families with teens 13 and up; younger kids are not allowed on their own accounts.
Desk researchPaid
BusyKid
BusyKid · ages kids and teens (chores are preset by age)
A good-value chore and card app for families who want a weekly allowance routine; skip it if you only need a chore chart.
Desk researchPaidNo ads
Canopy
Netspark Inc. (doing business as Canopy) · ages for parents of kids and teens (about 6-17)
A strong option for parents of a child's first phone who want explicit content filtered; parents of older teens should weigh the trust cost of this much monitoring.
Desk researchFree, with paid extrasNo ads
ClassDojo
ClassDojo, Inc. · ages about 4-14 (preschool through middle school)
Handy for families whose teacher already uses it; parents can stick with the free core and skip the paid extras.
Where these facts come from
- https://mybrightwheel.com/
- https://mybrightwheel.com/pricing/
- https://mybrightwheel.com/terms/
- https://mybrightwheel.com/privacy/
- https://mybrightwheel.com/solutions/parents/
- https://mybrightwheel.com/ai-assistant/
- Reviews on G2: https://www.g2.com/products/brightwheel/reviews
Prices, terms and features change. Nobody paid to be listed, nothing here is an affiliate link, and Peabody never rates itself. Where we and the maker disagree, the maker's own pages are the ones to trust.