Skip to the main content
PeabodyMake a free story

🧸 Early learning (ages 2-6) · 🍳 Cooking with kids

Kids Eat in Color

By Kids Eat in Color, LLC. Visit Kids Eat in Color

Desk research from the maker's own pages. Not yet tried by us. Checked 2026-10-24.

A child-feeding resource for parents of picky eaters, from first foods through the teen years. It has free articles, a free picky-eater guide, and an ARFID screener, plus paid meal-planning ebooks and a book. Its newest product is BetterBites, an app-based program for kids 1-5 that gives parents one small daily step with scripts, templates and check-ins, a parent community, and access to dietitians and occupational therapists. The child eats; the parent uses the app.

Our take: Worth a look for parents worried about a young picky eater who want daily coaching; a child with weight loss or severe food refusal needs a doctor first.

The facts
Ages it suitsfor parents of kids 0-18; BetterBites targets ages 1-5
What its terms say about ageTerms say you must be at least 18 to use the website, templates, courses and products. The BetterBites app is rated 13+ on the App Store. (terms)
PricePaid. Free articles and guide. BetterBites founding-member price is $84 every 3 months or $134 every 6 months (listed as down from $110 and $220) (Oct 2026); the maker says it is FSA/HSA eligible. Ebooks run about $13-$52 on sale.
Works onWeb, iPhone and iPad
AccountA parent's account
AdsNot stated
In-app purchasesNot stated
The AI in itNo AI.

What's good

  • Clear, judgment-free feeding advice
  • Screener helps parents spot when picky eating may be ARFID
  • Access to feeding specialists in the program
  • Honest about its evidence

Watch for

  • Program bills every 3 or 6 months
  • Not a substitute for medical care; the terms say so
  • Ad tracking on the website
  • App collects precise location

Data and privacy

The privacy policy says it may use cookies and third-party ad companies for targeted advertising and share information with advertisers. The BetterBites App Store label lists precise location, contact info and purchases linked to the user, and the app includes messaging and chat. Read the privacy policy.

Does it work?

The maker calls BetterBites research-backed but states plainly that no independent peer-reviewed study of the program has been done; it was refined with internal pilot data.

In the Big Index

Alternatives to Kids Eat in Color

  • Desk researchFreeNo ads

    Fight BAC!

    Partnership for Food Safety Education (nonprofit) · ages K-12, plus parents of babies

    A solid free pick for teachers and parents teaching kids to cook safely; kids wanting a game will find only a little here.

  • Desk researchThrough schools

    Jamie Oliver's 10 Skills (Ministry of Food)

    Jamie Oliver Enterprises Limited · ages about 3-14 (UK primary and secondary; US schools and community groups)

    A good free starting point for schools and clubs teaching basic cooking; families cooking at home will get more from free recipe sites, since this is built for classrooms.

  • Desk researchPaidNo ads

    Kids Cook Real Food

    Kitchen Stewardship LLC (Raising Healthy Families, Katie Kimball) · ages about 2-12 (Teens Cook Real Food for 13-21 is on a waitlist)

    Suits parents who want a structured plan to teach several kids real kitchen skills at home; skip it if you want a kid to learn alone from an app.

  • Desk researchPaid

    Outschool cooking classes

    Outschool, Inc. · ages about 9-18 for the cooking listings we saw (Outschool overall covers 3-18)

    Good for tweens and teens who want a live, social cooking class from home; younger kids need a parent beside them, and families uneasy about recorded video should skip it.

  • Desk researchPaidNo ads

    Paprika Recipe Manager

    Hindsight Labs LLC · ages adults (a parent's planning tool)

    A solid, ad-free planner for the parent who runs the family kitchen; not a kids' product, so children should use it only alongside a parent.

  • Desk researchPaidNo ads

    Raddish Kids

    Raddish Kids Inc · ages about 4-14+

    A good fit for families who want a guided, screen-free cooking project each month and will shop for ingredients; skip it if a recurring box is hard on the budget.

Every product in early learning (ages 2-6) →

Where these facts come from

Prices, terms and features change. Nobody paid to be listed, nothing here is an affiliate link, and Peabody never rates itself. Where we and the maker disagree, the maker's own pages are the ones to trust.